5th Annual IES Quality Summit

Clinical and hospital leaders recently gathered at the 5th Annual IES Quality Summit to discuss a significant challenge facing emergency departments today – pain management and opioid addiction. Keynote speaker Ruben Strayer, MD, a pain management expert, spoke about the unique frontline position emergency providers hold in preventing new cases of opioid abuse and identifying treatment options for existing opioid addicts. Integrative Emergency Services’ Quality Summit is the largest annual conference in Texas focused solely on improving quality of care in emergency medicine.

“A recent report cited more than 62,000 Americans are believed to have fatally overdosed from opioids in 2017,” said Nick Zenarosa, MD, FACEP, founder and chief executive officer of IES. “This national crisis isn’t going away anytime soon, but by arming providers who attended the Quality Summit with the latest advances in the diagnosis, treatment, clinical skills, and practice management innovations, they can start to effect change and make a difference.”

Attendees at this year’s Quality Summit participated in educational sessions that included: Pain Medications/Definitions, Potency, Side Effects; Chronic Pain Policy: Scripting For “No” With Validation of Patient’s Pain; Implantable Pain Pumps/Overview Pain Procedures; and Ketamine – How to Get It Right.

The IES Quality Summit also offered evidence-based Continuing Medical Education (CME) and provided attendees with the tools and resources to implement best practice care in emergency medicine. In addition to a hands-on Critical Procedures Course that helps to ensure that IES physicians and advanced practice providers maintain competencies in high-risk/low-frequency critical patient encounters, the Summit recognized industry leaders through its Leadership, Quality and Service Awards.


  • Joseph Young, DO, received The Dighton C. Packard, MD, FACEP Award for Leadership in Emergency Medicine for his unyielding pursuit to advance the field of emergency medicine through leadership and service. Board certified in emergency medicine, Dr. Young completed his residency at the University of Texas Southwestern – Parkland Health & Hospital System. He is the medical director in the emergency department at Baylor University Medical Center at Dallas.


  • Robert T Dahlquist, MD, FACEP, received The John A. Marx, MD, FAAEM Award for Quality in Emergency Medicine for his role in enhancing the quality of Emergency Medicine through leadership, service, and evidence-based research. Dahlquist attended medical school at the University of Nebraska College of Medicine and completed his residency at Carolinas Medical Center. He is currently the associate medical director at Baylor University Medical Center at Dallas.


  • Lessie Harlin, FNP, received the Advanced Practice Provider Service Award for clinical excellence and outstanding patient-centered care. Harlin earned a Bachelor of Science in nursing from The University of Texas at Arlington and a Master of Science in nursing from Texas Woman’s University. Harlin is a family nurse practitioner at John Peter Smith Hospital’s Clinical Decision Unit in Fort Worth.


The Summit also included a Quality Poster Contest recognizing outstanding research posters featuring a value or quality project that has been successfully implemented within an emergency department.

First place: Robert T. Dahlquist, MD, Joe Young, DO, and Karina Reyner, MD, studied the impact of expedited emergency department evaluations of transient ischemic attacks.

Second place: Toral Bhakta, DO, Rebecca Rodriquez, Maureen Lawler, RN, and Aubre Tijerina, RN, measured how Baylor Scott & White All Saints Medical Center – Fort Worth used change management to improve emergency department processes.

Third place: Seamus Lonergan, MD, Sandy Harman, FNP, Yen Munoz, RN, Barbara Klausing, RN, and Chelsea Dahlquist evaluated how the institution of a provider discharge process saves bed time in the vertical patient flow process.